Aztec ‘Winter Champions League’ Tournament
Date: 11 January 2017

On Monday 16th January, the Aztec Academy year 5 and 6 age groups will launch the ‘Winter Champions League’ tournament, which proved to be hugely successful and popular last season.

The tournament involves the players being divided into what are expected to be five equally competitive teams that will play each other on a round-robin basis. Matches will take place on Monday evenings at St Sampson High School over a five week period, which culminates in the final round of matches on February 13th. Each team will be ‘managed’ by one of the Aztec Academy coaches, who will utilise the tournament to transfer much of the content from previous training sessions into a match based format as the players are again challenged. Whilst this is a similar concept to the popular Aztec League of Nations tournament that is running throughout the season, the Winter Champions League tournament provides the players with a different challenge of playing 9 v 9 football and of course a bigger pitch/goal, etc.  

The fixture schedule for the tournament is as follows:

Date Time Home Away Week Off
Jan 16th 5.45pm-6.30pm BVB Bayern Munich Real Madrid
Jan 16th 6.45pm-7.30pm PSG Celtic
Jan 23rd 5.45pm-6.30pm PSG Real Madrid BVB
Jan 23rd 6.45pm-7.30pm Celtic Bayern Munich
Jan 30th 5.45pm-6.30pm PSG Bayern Munich Celtic
Jan 30th 6.45pm-7.30pm Real Madrid BVB
Feb 6th 5.45pm-6.30pm Real Madrid Bayern Munich PSG
Feb 6th 6.45pm-7.30pm BVB Celtic
Feb 13th 5.45pm-6.30pm BVB PSG Bayern Munich
Feb 13th 6.45pm-7.30pm Celtic  Real Madrid

The squad lists are as follows:

BVB Bayern Munich Real Madrid Celtic PSG
Harry Simon Aaron Tomassen Finley Simon Ollie Clapham Olly Harrison
Tanner Austin Ben Jones Charlie Coleman Alex Ward Harry Johnson
George Heaume Harry Oliver-Bewey Mo Gontier Eti Vance Cayden Tardif
Mason Jones Joe Marshall Harry Mann George Montgomery Tom Solway
Charlie Le Lacheur Henry Roger Alex Mourant Tyler Cherry Zacheo Joffre
Harry Hodgson Mac Duckworth Josh Fallaize Jack Becker Rio Bowditch
Floyd Johns Archie Le Huray Jack Griffin Pearce Le Poidevin Chay Kennedy-Cook
Jayden Tucknott Zach Gilman Leon Solano Monty Wyatt Harry Bisson
Harvey Lindley Max Wall Dominic Da Silva Harvey Migasiuk Mason Prigent
Finn Simon Declan Hamon Noah Davy Jack Welbourne
Manager/Coach Manager/Coach Manager/Coach Manager/Coach Manager/Coach
Adam Heaume Tony Vance Colin Fallaize Kevin Gilligan Angus Mackay